What's Included? Our 46 Point Checklist. Find Out More

The 5 Love Languages: Discover the Most Effective Way to Express Your Love

There was recently a book written by Dr. Gary Chapman introducing us to the five love languages. These are exactly as they sound… The way our personality interprets and receives love from others. It’s important to take time to think about which category you, as well as your spouse, fall into.


1. Words of Affirmation.

If you interpret love through words of affirmation, you love to hear when you did a great job. Even if you know the house is spotless, nothing compares to actually hearing someone tell you how great it looks. If your partner receives love through words of affirmation, make sure that you are vocal. Let them know they are doing a great job, and that you appreciate everything they do!


2. Acts of Service.

When you receive love through acts of service, love is felt when others do things for you. It’s hard to argue with this one. If someone doesn’t love you, they aren’t likely to drive an hour in the rain to pick you up from the airport or surprise you with a clean house. Truly selfless acts do say a lot about a person and their investment in the relationship.


3. Receiving Gifts.

This one is a little more difficult. I, personally have never been much on gifts, but I once had a friend who was convinced that her boyfriend really cared about her because he bought her expensive jewelry. It took her seeing him hit on her sister before she realized that she had been blinded by bling.


4. Quality Time.

Spending actual quality time with someone is more than popping by when you’re in the neighborhood. It’s about being around someone, and truly WANTING to be there. If your partner accepts love through quality time, they relish the fact that you want to be around them. Just having you close shows them your love.


5. Physical Touch.

This love language reminds me a lot of that fluttery feeling you get when you hold hands with someone for the first time. It’s almost as if your heart stops for a second. I imagine that people who receive love through physical touch probably get this feeling often. If your spouse falls into this category, those playful arm touches when they tell a joke, or just a sweet kiss before leaving for work show them that you truly love them.


The book explains that all of us fall into these categories, and that they are an integral part of a successful relationship.

Which one do you fall into? Leave us a note in the comment section!.